The Wicked + Wendy.

Had a little more money than usual lately, so when I was in Dundee last weekend I went on a little shopping spree in Waterstones, and bought a whole bunch of graphic novels. Been kinda stingy with the indulgent spending recently, so it was nice to have the opportunity to splurge. There were a few books I wanted but couldn’t find, but luckily I found a few hidden gems; with the highlights being The Wicked + The Divine (which I shortsightedly only bought the first two volumes of) and Wendy – a book which is, rather amusingly, about an art student…

Wendy was actually quite interesting, as it made me realize something (quite obvious) that had been eluding me – not all art is the same. I’ve been suffering from a bit of artist envy recently and was beginning to feel like every published artist I saw was at a skill level I was never going to reach. Wendy’s art was… different. Definitely not bad by any stretch of the imagination, but it didn’t have that polish and consistency that has been so prevalent in my recent reading material – it was creative, and bold, but it also seemed achievable. Really achievable.

It’s really encouraged me to think about my art development in a different way. Instead of constantly aiming for technical perfection, it’s made me want to work on loosening myself up, and being more expressive and imaginative. That isn’t to say I have any intention of not trying to improve my technique, but I definitely think reading the comic has brought about a healthy change of priorities. And hopefully this shift will also allow me to appreciate my favorite artists a little more, by lessening the jealousy that their work often instills in me.

The Wicked + The Divine was also pretty great – and reminded me a little of Morning Glories (which, somewhat amusingly, it shares a publisher with). I’ve only read it once so far, so I will likely need to read it again before I can fully determine how I feel about it, but it definitely seems like a series I’ll be keeping up with. Although I felt the same way about Morning Glories, and I haven’t bought a new volume of it since Vol. 4…

Anyhoo, I feel like The Wicked + The Divine is something I could potentially rant about for a while, but I’ll leave it here for just now and wait until I’ve had a chance to sit down and give it a more thorough read. I might wait until I get my hands on the third volume, or I might just do it on my next day off. Guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Wow, that’s starting to feel like a catch-phrase…

Leave a Reply

