The dogs of BoJack Horseman

Couldn’t think of anything meaningful to talk about… so here’s a bunch of dogs from season 1 of BoJack Horseman, in celebration of the upcoming third season.

One of the (many, many) things I love about the show is the sheer number of well-designed background characters it has, and the creativity of their designs. Here, I’m going to focus on the dogs (because I like dogs) to show how much creativity went into such a small fraction of these background characters.

Dog5Mr. Peanut Butter himself, alongside a pug that makes numerous background appearances. Not entirely sure why the pug has such pronounced whiskers…

Dog6I’m pretty sure this lady from episode 2 is a chihuahua… but she could also be a cat of some kind. I’m going to assume the former for the sake of this post.

Dog3This guy is just the cutest. I love these little moments in the show were we see the animals exhibiting their more non-human traits. Dogs like bones, y’know? πŸ˜›

Dog8These ladies show up quite frequently, usually together. I adore the poodle’s design; obvious, but effective. I think the other woman is a corgi? Maybe…

Dog7Police dog could arrest me any day of the week. It’s a pity he seldom shows up, as his role is mostly covered by police cat. Silly police cat! 😦

Dog9The hairdresser dog is just adorable. Would be interesting to see him make a cameo in the present day… he must still be working in television, right?

Dog4Wolf-dog makes an amusing blink-and-you’ll-miss-it cameo in season 1. I can’t remember if he ever shows up again. He should totally be a running gag.

Ha! Get it? “Running” gag! πŸ˜›

Dog2In my head-canon this guy is 100% in the closet, and only here to keep up appearances. He’s probably police dog’s “straight-acting” BF in present day.

Or maybe he is police dog…

Nah! I like my idea better.

Dog1This guy is a doberman… I really don’t have anything else to say about him…

Dog0Okay, so this one is a little bit of a cheat, but I really wanted to find 10 – and I wanted to leave season 2 for another day… Still, he looks pretty nifty.

I can’t remember off the top of my head if there are enough new dogs to warrant a second post about season 2, but if there are I’ll likely get round to it within a few days. If not, there’s always season 3! I’m also tempted to come up with a list of my favorite non-mammalian character designs in the show, as there are some really f%^&ing cool ones. So, that’s something to look forward to, I guess? πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

